SFG to release to live among wolves debut EP

‘living.losing’ is the first testament of one of The Netherlands’ hardest working new hardcore bands: to live among wolves.

Our latest signing brings five guys together, all with a background in the hardcore scene of Zeeland – the south west region of the Netherlands where SFG was born into too, which earlier on spew out bands such as Rites and Run Like Hell. This new outfit plays abrasive hardcore that’s both calculated and chaotic, covering themes such as personal struggle, politics and religion in their lyrics. ‘living.losing’ was recorded in the small town of Bergen Op Zoom which is a city in our eyes. First single “All Victims” premiered online on October 5th.

For fans of La Dispute, Touche Amore, Defeater. CD comes in a digipack casing.

If you don’t have Paypal and are Dutch, please reach out via smithsfoodgroupdiy[a]gmail[.]com

Check Holy See / Vatican City as your country for me to hand the order over to you in person- no shipping costs will be charged.


Group Of Man – What We Got In Common to be released May 18

Vinyl, vinyl, vinyl! Debut 12″ by Britain’s finest Group Of Man: ‘What We Got In Common’. Released on all black heavyweight vinyl by Smithsfoodgroup DIY and Future Voide Records, with all digitals being handled by Holy Roar Records. The full album is now streaming up at Idioteq.

Following up to 2017’s ‘Always Looming’ 7″, WWGIC is a huge step up for the band, which is made up of (ex-)members of Apologies, I Have None, MINE, Hang The Bastard, Pariso, Hammers and a heap of other UKHC low-key legends. A Group Of Man, if you will.

To be released on May 18 (UK), Euro shipping late May.

– 250 copies on 180gr. black vinyl

Go to the Smithsfoodgroup DIY webshop

Absentees (UK) to release debut on SFG

A B S E N T E E S. UK four-piece emerged from the ashes of Artemis so you know what this will be like: loud and abrasive. We’re very excited about the new stuff of these guys and are releasing their debut early May: Split / Screens on cassette.

50 tapes in total, 25 black and 25 white. Released together with the awesome Churchroad Records (UK). Full LP coming later this year.

Check the premiere of ‘Split’ over at Metal Hammer on April 19th!

Pre-order a white cassette over at our shop.

Arson – Let’s Start a Fire coming mid-May

Very excited to say that we’ve signed Arson, a new five-piece from Ghent, Belgium, containing members of a.o. Soul Grip and Atlas, for a CD release of their debut ‘Let’s Start a Fire’. Nosebleed Records (BE) is doing a cassette release and the digital version is premiering on April 9th over at RockXXL!


The album is mixed by Jag Jago of The Ghost Of A Thousand fame and this is one for fans of that band, Everytime I Die, Kvelertak, Frank Carter’s work… you get the idea. CD comes in a digipack and can be pre-ordered here!

Jeffrey’s top 25 of 2017

2017 was a good year. Not only in terms of music, but also for myself. Got a new fulltime job, finally went to see Manchester United and announced that me and the missus expect a second child in 2018. But without further ado, he’re is my Top 25 of 2017:

  1. Run The Jewels – Run The Jewels 3
  2. Ex Eye – Ex Eye
  3. Dödsrit – Dödsrit
  4. Dead Neanderthals – Womb of God
  5. Ulver – The Assassination of Julius Caesar
  6. Employed To Serve – The Warmth of a Dying Sun
  7. Japandroids – Near to the Wild Heart of Life
  8. Ghostpoet – Dark Days + Canapés
  9. Amenra – MASS VI
  10. James Holden & The Animal Spirits – The Animal Spirits
  11. Converge – The Dusk in Us
  12. Drab Majesty – The Demonstration
  13. Broken Social Scene – Hug of Thunder
  14. Human Future – Flat Earth Blues
  15. Mogwai – Every Country’s Sun
  16. Krallice with Dave Edwardson – Loüm
  17. Luwten – Luwten
  18. Dead Neanderthals – Craters
  19. Hans Zimmer & Benjamin Wallfisch – Blade Runner 2049 OST
  20. Oak – Your Mess as Much as Mine
  21. Dead Cross – Dead Cross
  22. The Body & Full of Hell – Ascending a Mountain of Heavy Light
  23. Pallbearer – Heartless
  24. Sority Noise – You’re Not As _____ As You Think
  25. Mastodon – Emperor of Sand

Rites to release first vinyl: Misery Is Company EP

We’re excited to announce the third RITES EP: ‘Misery Is Company’. The five-track release will be available via Smithsfoodgroup DIY, Cult Culture (UK) and the band themselves and is to be released early November 2017.

Rites is one of those bands that we’ve always loved working with and this will be our fourth time doing so. With ‘Misery Is company’ they’re showing off their growth without losing that gritty punkrock edge.

‘Misery Is Company’ was recorded by Jasper van de Broek (o.a. Call It Off, Wasted Bullet, For I Am King) and the artwork was created by German artist Lisa Kistner.

100x Black
200x Green Crystal Black
200x Purple White Blue


Grab a pre-order via smithsfoodgroupdiy.bigcartel.com

Listener – Being Empty : Being Filled vol. II now available to pre-order

We’re pleased to announce we have a handful of Listener – Being Empty : Being Filled vol. II 7″ records up for pre-order. Pressed on oxblood red vinyl, this is the second installment of the BE:BF series, leading up to a full length release early 2018.

Get it in our webshop

Belgian friends: get this 7″ via its European releasor: Black Basset Records. UK friends, you can grab it from Truthseeker Music!